Dipl.-Inf.
Doktorand

Email
Telefon: +49 351 458 5597
Google Scholar

Dominik Rivoir

Dominik studierte Informatik (Diplom) an der TU Dresden mit den Schwerpunkten Maschinelles Lernen sowie Wissensrepräsentation und Argumentation. Für sein Studium erhielt Dominik die Lohrmann-Medaille als bester Absolvent des Jahres an der Fakultät Informatik. 2019 kam er als Doktorand zu CeTI am Nationalen Zentrum für Tumorerkrankungen.

Innerhalb des CeTI dreht sich Dominiks Forschung um robotergestützte chirurgische Assistenzsysteme. Er entwickelt Methoden für tiefgreifendes Lernen zur Analyse von chirurgischen Videodaten und zur Extraktion von Informationen, die für die Bereitstellung automatisierter, kontextbezogener Unterstützung für das Operationsteam relevant sind.

Projekte/Kooperationen innerhalb von CeTI, an denen Sie beteiligt sind:

  • Generierung von simulierten chirurgischen Videodaten: Ein Modell für tiefgreifendes Lernen, das detaillierte, realistische und zeitlich konsistente Videosequenzen aus simulierten chirurgischen Szenen erzeugen kann. Solche Daten bieten potenziell eine leistungsfähige Umgebung für das Training und die Evaluierung von Komponenten von Assistenzsystemen.
    (with Surgical Department VTG @ U1)
  • Videobasierte Antizipation von chirurgischen Ereignissen für kontextabhängige Unterstützung: Ein probabilistisches neuronales Netz, das die Verwendung von chirurgischen Instrumenten vorhersagen kann, bevor sie in einem Video auftauchen, wobei die mit zukünftigen Ereignissen verbundene Unsicherheit berücksichtigt wird. Diese Informationen können genutzt werden, um proaktiv den Bedarf an Unterstützung während der Operation zu erkennen.

CeTI-Räume innerhalb von CeTI, an denen Sie beteiligt sind:

U1

Further Questions:

Was schätzen Sie an Ihrer Arbeit bei CeTI am meisten?

In einem vielfältigen und interdisziplinären Umfeld zu arbeiten und gleichzeitig Zugang zu Fachwissen und Ressourcen zu haben, die eng mit meinem Fachgebiet verbunden sind.

Was war Ihr bisher schönster Moment bei CeTI?

In meiner ersten Woche bei CeTI nahm ich an den CeTI-Truck-Demos teil. Ich bekam sofort einen guten Einblick in alle Projekte, die bei CeTI laufen.

Was möchten Sie noch erforschen?

Im Moment konzentriere ich mich nur auf Bild- und Videoanwendungen von tiefgreifendem Lernen. Aber auch in anderen Bereichen, wie der Verarbeitung von natürlicher Sprache oder Roboteranwendungen (Verstärkendes Lernen), gibt es spannende Fortschritte.

Wie verbringen Sie Ihre Freizeit?

In meiner Freizeit spiele ich gerne Gitarre, koche und spiele Baseball. Außerdem verbringe ich viel Zeit damit, Bücher zu lesen und Filme zu sehen.

Veröffentlichungen
1.

Dominik Rivoir; Micha Pfeiffer; Reuben Docea; Fiona Kolbinger; Carina Riediger; Jürgen Weitz; Stefanie Speidel

Long-term temporally consistent unpaired video translation from simulated surgical 3D data (Inproceedings)

In: Proceedings of the International Conference on Computer Vision (ICCV), 2021.

(BibTeX)

2.

Stefanie Speidel; Sebastian Bodenstedt; Felix von Bechtolsheim; Dominik Rivoir; Isabel Funke; Eva Goebel; Annett Mitschick; Raimund Dachselt; Jürgen Weitz

Surgical assistance and training (Buchkapitel)

In: Fitzek, Frank H P; Li, Shu-Chen; Speidel, Stefanie; Strufe, Thorsten; Şimşek, Meryem; Reisslein, Martin (Hrsg.): Tactile Internet with Human-in-the-Loop, Kapitel 2 , S. 23–40, Academic Press, 2021.

(BibTeX)

3.

Dominik Rivoir; Sebastian Bodenstedt; Isabel Funke; Felix von Bechtolsheim; Marius Distler; Jürgen Weitz; Stefanie Speidel

Rethinking anticipation tasks: Uncertainty-aware anticipation of sparse surgical instrument usage for context-aware assistance (Buchkapitel mit eigenem Titel)

In: Martel, Anne L; Abolmaesumi, Purang; Stoyanov, Danail; Mateus, Diana; Zuluaga, Maria A; Zhou, Kevin S; Racoceanu, Daniel; Joskowicz, Leo (Hrsg.): Medical Image Computing and Computer Assisted Intervention – MICCAI 2020, 12263 , S. 752–762, Springer, 2020.

(Links | BibTeX)

4.

Dominik Rivoir; Sebastian Bodenstedt; Felix von Bechtolsheim; Marius Distler; Jürgen Weitz; Stefanie Speidel

Unsupervised temporal video segmentation as an auxiliary task for predicting the remaining surgery duration (Buchkapitel mit eigenem Titel)

In: Zhou, Luping; Sarikaya, Duygu; Kia, Seyed M; Speidel, Stefanie; Malpani, Anand; Hashimoto, Daniel; Habes, Mohamad; Löfstedt, Tommy; Ritter, Kerstin; Wang, Hongzhi (Hrsg.): OR 2.0 Context-Aware Operating Theaters and Machine Learning in Clinical Neuroimaging, 11796 , S. 29–37, Springer, 2019, (Best Paper Award).

(Links | BibTeX)

Dipl.-Inf.
PhD student

Email
Phone: +49 351 458 5597
Google Scholar

Dominik Rivoir

Dominik studied Computer Science (Diplom) at TU Dresden with a focus on Machine Learning as well as Knowledge Representation and Reasoning. For his studies, Dominik received the Lohrmann Medal as the best graduate of the year at the faculty of Computer Science. In 2019, he joined CeTI as a PhD student at the National Center for Tumor Diseases.

Within CeTI, Dominik’s research revolves around robot-assisted surgical assistance systems. He develops Deep-Learning methods for analyzing surgical video data and extracting information which is relevant for providing automated, context-aware assistance to the surgical team.

Projects/Cooperation within CeTI you are involved in:

  • Generating simulated surgical video data: A Deep-Learning model which can generate detailed, realistic and temporally consistent video sequences from simulated surgical scenes. Such data potentially provides a powerful environment for training and evaluating components of assistance systems.
    (with Surgical Department VTG @ U1)
  • Video-based anticipation of surgical events for context-aware assistance: A probabilistic neural network which can predict the usage of surgical instruments before they appear in a video while taking into account the uncertainty associated with future events. This information can be used to proactively recognize the need for assistance during surgery.

CeTI rooms within CeTI you are involved in:

U1

Further Questions:

What do you value most about your work at CeTI?

Working in a diverse and interdisciplinary environment while also having access to expertise and resources that are closely related to my field.

What was your best moment at CeTI so far?

Participating in the CeTI truck demos during my first week at CeTI. I immediately got a great insight into all the projects happening within CeTI.

What else would you like to research?

At the moment, I am only focussing on image and video applications of Deep Learning. However, there are also exciting advancements happening in other areas such as natural language processing or robotic applications (reinforcement learning).

How do you spend your spare time?

In my free time, I like to play the guitar, cook and play baseball. I also spend a lot of my time reading books and watching movies.

Publications:
1.

Dominik Rivoir; Micha Pfeiffer; Reuben Docea; Fiona Kolbinger; Carina Riediger; Jürgen Weitz; Stefanie Speidel

Long-term temporally consistent unpaired video translation from simulated surgical 3D data (Inproceedings)

In: Proceedings of the International Conference on Computer Vision (ICCV), 2021.

(BibTeX)

2.

Stefanie Speidel; Sebastian Bodenstedt; Felix von Bechtolsheim; Dominik Rivoir; Isabel Funke; Eva Goebel; Annett Mitschick; Raimund Dachselt; Jürgen Weitz

Surgical assistance and training (Book Chapter)

In: Fitzek, Frank H P; Li, Shu-Chen; Speidel, Stefanie; Strufe, Thorsten; Simsek, Meryem; Reisslein, Martin (Ed.): Tactile Internet with Human-in-the-Loop, Chapter 2 , pp. 23-40, Academic Press, 2021.

(BibTeX)

3.

Dominik Rivoir; Sebastian Bodenstedt; Isabel Funke; Felix von Bechtolsheim; Marius Distler; Jürgen Weitz; Stefanie Speidel

Rethinking anticipation tasks: Uncertainty-aware anticipation of sparse surgical instrument usage for context-aware assistance (Incollection)

In: Martel, Anne L; Abolmaesumi, Purang; Stoyanov, Danail; Mateus, Diana; Zuluaga, Maria A; Zhou, Kevin S; Racoceanu, Daniel; Joskowicz, Leo (Ed.): Medical Image Computing and Computer Assisted Intervention – MICCAI 2020, 12263 , pp. 752-762, Springer, 2020.

(Links | BibTeX)

4.

Dominik Rivoir; Sebastian Bodenstedt; Felix von Bechtolsheim; Marius Distler; Jürgen Weitz; Stefanie Speidel

Unsupervised temporal video segmentation as an auxiliary task for predicting the remaining surgery duration (Incollection)

In: Zhou, Luping; Sarikaya, Duygu; Kia, Seyed M; Speidel, Stefanie; Malpani, Anand; Hashimoto, Daniel; Habes, Mohamad; Löfstedt, Tommy; Ritter, Kerstin; Wang, Hongzhi (Ed.): OR 2.0 Context-Aware Operating Theaters and Machine Learning in Clinical Neuroimaging, 11796 , pp. 29-37, Springer, 2019, (Best Paper Award).

(Links | BibTeX)