Dipl.-Ing.
Doktorand

Email
Telefon: +49 351 463 38737

Helmuth Morath

Helmuth P. E. Morath wurde 1990 in Oberkirch, Deutschland, geboren. Er erhielt 2018 den Grad eines Diplom-Ingenieurs in Elektrotechnik von der Technischen Universität Dresden, wo er derzeit promoviert.
Seine Forschungsinteressen umfassen das Design analoger Schaltungen mit einem aktuellen Schwerpunkt auf Schaltungen für drahtlose On-Body-Netzwerk-Frontends in fortschrittlichen CMOS-Technologien, wobei er versucht, die Lücke zwischen dem Betrieb bei Millimeterwellen-Frequenzen für eine kompakte Integration und dem Betrieb mit geringem Stromverbrauch zu schließen.

Projekte/Kooperationen innerhalb von CeTI, an denen Sie beteiligt sind:

Drahtloses Front-End-Design:
Demo kann bald in Handschuhen verwendet werden (TP2, TP3, Mimetik, U2, U3)

CeTI-Räume innerhalb von CeTI, an denen Sie beteiligt sind:

TP4

Weitere Fragen:

Was schätzen Sie an Ihrer Arbeit bei CeTI am meisten?

Ich bin ein neugieriger Mensch, der sich dafür interessiert, wie die Welt funktioniert. Daher ist CeTI als interdisziplinäres Projekt ideal, um eine Menge neuer Dinge aus anderen Forschungsbereichen zu lernen. Außerdem ist es wirklich schön, nicht nur Hardware zu bauen, sondern die eigene Hardware als Teil eines größeren Ganzen zu sehen.

Was war Ihr bisher schönster Moment bei CeTI?

Ich liebe alle CeTI-Veranstaltungen, Workshops usw., bei denen Leute von CeTI zusammenkommen. Es ist alles sehr professionell und gut organisiert mit hoch motivierten Forschern, die wirklich an das Projekt glauben. Es fühlt sich riesig an! Ich meine, welches andere Projekt kann schon mit einem Lastwagen angeben ;).

Was möchten Sie noch erforschen?

Ich interessiere mich sehr für hoch adaptive Vorderseiten, die je nach Bedarf Datenrate gegen Stromverbrauch tauschen können.

Wie verbringen Sie Ihre Freizeit?

Wenn ich nicht gerade auf meinem Balkon Gemüse anbaue und ein paar nette Gartenarbeiten erledige, findet man mich auf Reisen, beim Reiten oder beim Wandern an abgelegenen Orten, um die Natur zu genießen. Außerdem liebe ich gutes Essen und gelegentlich ein Glas Wein :-).

Veröffentlichungen
1.

Helmuth Morath; Paolo Valerio Testa; Jens Wagner; Frank Ellinger

A 3.6 mW 60 GHz low noise amplifier with 0.6 ns settling time for duty-cycled receivers (Artikel)

In: IEEE Microwave and Wireless Components Letters, 31 (4), S. 977-980, 2021.

(Links | BibTeX)

2.

Helmuth Morath; Xin An; Jens Wagner; Paolo Valerio Testa; Karlheinz Bock; Frank Ellinger

Designing a 60 GHz sub-milliwatt transceiver for wireless body-area-networks (Inproceedings)

In: Proceedings of the European Wireless (EW), 2021, (accepted for publication).

(BibTeX)

Dipl.-Ing.
PhD student

Email
Phone: +49 351 463 38737

Helmuth Morath

Helmuth P. E. Morath was born in Oberkirch, Germany, in 1990. He received the Diplom-Ingenieur degree in electrical engineering from Technische Universität Dresden, Dresden, Germany, in 2018, where he is currently pursuing a Ph.D. degree.
His research interests include analog circuit design with a current focus on circuits for on-body wireless network front-ends in advanced CMOS technologies, where he tries to bridge the gap between operation at millimeter-wave frequencies for compact integration and low-power operation.

Projects/Cooperation within CeTI you are involved in:

Wireless Front-End Design:
• Demo can be soon used in Gloves (TP2, TP3, Mimetik, U2, U3)

CeTI rooms within CeTI you are involved in:

TP4

Further Questions:

What do you value most about your work at CeTI?

I am a curious person interested in how the world works. Therefore, CeTI as an interdisciplinary project is ideal to learn a lot of new things from other researching areas. On top, it is really nice to not just build some hardware but to see your hardware as a part of a bigger picture.

What was your best moment at CeTI so far?

I love all CeTI events, workshops, etc. whenever people from CeTI come together. It is all very professional and well organized with highly motivated researchers who really believe in the project. It feels huge! I mean which other project can show off with a truck ;).

What else would you like to research?

I am very interested in highly adaptive front-ends that can trade data-rate for power consumption depending on the required need.

How do you spend your spare time?

When I am not on my balcony growing vegetables and doing some nice gardening stuff, you can find me traveling around, going horse riding, or hiking in remote places enjoying nature. Besides that, I love good food and the occasional glass of wine :-).

Publications:
1.

Helmuth Morath; Paolo Valerio Testa; Jens Wagner; Frank Ellinger

A 3.6 mW 60 GHz low noise amplifier with 0.6 ns settling time for duty-cycled receivers (Journal Article)

In: IEEE Microwave and Wireless Components Letters, 31 (4), pp. 977-980, 2021.

(Links | BibTeX)

2.

Helmuth Morath; Xin An; Jens Wagner; Paolo Valerio Testa; Karlheinz Bock; Frank Ellinger

Designing a 60 GHz sub-milliwatt transceiver for wireless body-area-networks (Inproceedings)

In: Proceedings of the European Wireless (EW), 2021, (accepted for publication).

(BibTeX)